Press release header


Jan. 17, 2020


Kaycee Lagarde

Pensacola Fire Department Members Recognized for Service, Promotions

Members of the Pensacola Fire Department were recognized for outstanding service, promotions and more during PFD's annual awards and recognition ceremony Thursday, Jan. 16 at the Sanders Beach-Corinne Jones Resource Center.

Fire Chief Ginny Cranor spoke at the ceremony about the Pensacola Fire Department's mission and values, which she said partner perfectly with the City of Pensacola and Mayor Grover Robinson's mission to be a "city of excellence."

"We exist to provide quality, professional life safety and property protection to our community, through our dedication, honor, professionalism and compassion – through our four core values," Chief Cranor said. 

Although members of PFD are often hesitant to receive special recognition for just doing their job, Chief Cranor emphasized the importance of acknowledging their hard work and dedication. Some 2019 highlights from the ceremony included the installation of 66 smoke alarms in one day through PFD's smoke alarm program, a rapid response to a submerged vehicle, a thorough search and rescue mission for boaters in Pensacola Bay, and members of PFD coming together to support Escambia County Fire Rescue after the loss of their Division Chief Dwain Bradshaw in the line of duty. 

"Tonight we highlight the PFD's values in action – extraordinary examples of you just doing your job," Chief Cranor said. "24 hours a day, our crews are responding to emergencies and calls for help. And in addition to response, they are working through prevention and preparation activities every single day...our crews are trained and preparing for that worst-case scenario every day."

Mayor Robinson also expressed his support for Pensacola Fire Department, although he was unable to attend the ceremony due to Thursday's City Council meeting. 

"I am incredibly proud of the work that the men and women of Pensacola Fire Department do every single day to prevent fires and save lives in our community," Mayor Robinson said. "Their sacrifices do not go unnoticed, and I am honored to have a fire department in the City of Pensacola that exemplifies our core values and goes above and beyond to serve our citizens."

The following members of PFD were recognized at the ceremony:

Awards and Recognition 

Firefighter of the Year  
  • Firefighter Joseph McCombs 
Distinguished Service Award  
  • Capt. Jason Weidlich
  • Firefighter Daniel Del Rio
Unit Commendation Award
  • Engine Co. 4, C Watch & Ladder Co. 11, A Watch
  • Firefighter James Allen
  • Firefighter Tyler Haswell
  • Capt. Justin Hoard
  • Capt. Jed Martin
  • Lt. Donn Milton, III
  • Lt. Charles Clark
  • Firefighter Hunter West
Life Saving Awards
  • Engine Co. 6 & Ladder Co. 16, B Watch
  • Capt. Dustin Merritt
  • Firefighter Kevin Jones
  • Firefighter Chad Priddy
  • Capt. Cliff Ragsdale
  • Firefighter Colin Sperry
  • Firefighter Alexander Bullock
Recognition of Service: Community Risk Reduction
  • Battalion Chief Annie Bloxson
  • Capt. Jose Cobbs
  • Lt. Takerrion Brooks
  • Firefighter John Bartholomew
Recognition of Service: Academy Liaison
  • Battalion Chief Chuck Walters 2016-2018
Recognition of Service: PFD Values Award
  • Susan Cotton
  • Melinda Grogan
  • Rebecca Jadallah
Recognition of Service:  PFD Honor Guard
  • Firefighters: John Bartholomew, Zach Morris-Webb
  • Lieutenants: Kelly Akins, Stewart Avera, Brian Bacher, Charles Clark, Mike Daehn, Steven Kowallis, Robin Sibley, Jeff Wilmoth
  • Captains: Henry Eggart, Max Hoffman, Philip Hoffman, Michael Slater, Brian Thomann
  • Battalion Chief Charles Walters

Community Members and Promotions

Communitarian Award

  • Alex Odee and Justin Paul, Program Specialist, City of Pensacola
  • Hillary Hulstrand, M.D.


  • Nicholas Dodds
  • Darrell McClammy


  • Stewart Avera
  • Takerrion Brooks
  • Charles Clark
  • Steven Kowallis
  • Matthew Mills


  • Ryan Cope
  • Blane Coomer
  • Christopher Dennis
  • Zane George
  • Kyle Jones
  • Robert Lewis
  • Dylan Martinson
  • Ebben Mignott
  • Ke’Andre Prim
  • Handsel Reid
  • Colin Sperry
  • Nicholas Straczuk
  • Hunter West
  • Tavarris Wiggins

New Fire Cadets 2019

  • Alex Dingle
  • Derrion Elzy
  • Nathan English
  • Daveyon Finkley
  • Diego Jimenez
  • Tristian Snow


  • Travis Eddins
  • Andy Irwin
  • Todd Longsworth
  • Tyruan McCastler
  • Ron McCorvey
  • Robert Sanclemente
  • Richard Simmons
  • Carl Scott
  • James Smith
Chief Ginny Cranor shakes a firefighter's hand at the Pensacola Fire Department's annual awards ceremony
Firefighters pose for a photo at the Pensacola Fire Department's annual awards ceremony
Firefighters stand to be recognized at the Pensacola Fire Department's annual awards ceremony
Firefighter of the year Joseph McCombs is recognized at the Pensacola Fire Department's annual awards ceremony
A room full of people at the Pensacola Fire Department's annual awards ceremony

For more information or general questions, email To stay informed about what's happening with City of Pensacola government, sign up for email or text notifications through Notify Me or follow @CityofPensacola on social media.

Powered by
CivicSend - A product of CivicPlus